Françaisfr
Commercial, institutional & municipal

Parc Jean-Déry

The Jacques-Cartier monument stands in Parc Jean-Déry in the Sainte-Foy–Sillery–Cap-Rouge borough. The redesign and erection of the monument on this site was inaugurated on August 30, 2016.

For successful integration of the monument on the periphery of Parc Jean-Déry, the base was completely redone and the belvedere refurbished. For the paving surface, the landscape architect opted for Promenade architectural precast concrete pavers with Ultra-Smooth finishes in Steel Gray and Opal colours while for the Il Campo (brushed finish), the Granite color was specified. The formats used are 100x200x600mm and 100x100x400mm.

The current installations provide for a better ratio of scale between the monument and observers as well as enhancing visual harmony with the riverside landscape.

DESCRIPTION OF THE WORK

The bronze statue of Jacques-Cartier is a replica of the one erected in 1905 on the fortifications of Saint-Malo, the birthplace of the great navigator. The tribute is a gift of the Historic Monuments Commission of Québec. The explorer Jacques Cartier and adventurer Jean-François de La Rocque de Roberval are recognized for having founded the first permanent French colony in America, situated more specifically at the mouth of the Cap Rouge river.

Formerly lording over Jacques-Cartier square in the St-Roch borough, from the onset of the renovations the work was stored at the Gabrielle-Roy library. Parc Jean-Déry was chosen for the statue’s definitive site.

The monument site is only steps away from the Cartier-Roberval archaeological site, which attests to the exceptional traces left by the first French colony in America. The discovery of the vestiges of the first French settlement in North America, by the CCNQ in 2005, establishes tangible proof of Jacques Cartier’s presence in the Cap-Rouge region.

To complete the successful integration of the monument on the border of Parc Jean-Déry, the base was completely redone and the belvedere refurbished. The new installations allow for a better ratio of scale between the monument and observers while making for a more harmonious appreciation of the riverside landscape.

Design : Amélie Germain, architecte paysagiste, Ville de Québec
Plans and specifications
 : Simon Magnan, architecte paysagiste, Option aménagement
Execution : Ville de Québec

Top

Englishen
Commerciaux, institutionnels et municipaux

Parc Jean-Déry

Le monument Jacques-Cartier est situé au parc Jean-Déry dans l’arrondissement de Sainte-Foy–Sillery–Cap-Rouge. L’inauguration du réaménagement du monument en ce lieu s’est tenue le 30 août 2016.

Pour une intégration réussie du monument en bordure du parc Jean-Déry, le socle a été entièrement refait et le belvédère a été réaménagé. Pour la surface de pavage, le matériau spécifié par l’Architecte de paysage Claude Lachance de la firme Duo Design, fut le produit de béton préfabriqué architectural Promenade avec les finis Ultra-Lisse et les couleurs Gris Acier et Opale tandis que pour le Il Campo (fini brossé), la couleur Granit fut spécifiée. Les formats utilisés sont 100x200x600mm et le 100x100x400mm.

Les installations actuelles permettent un meilleur rapport d’échelle entre le monument et les observateurs ainsi qu’une meilleure harmonie visuelle du paysage riverain.

DESCRIPTION DE L’ŒUVRE

La statue de bronze de Jacques-Cartier est une réplique de celle érigée en 1905 sur les fortifications de Saint-Malo, ville natale du grand navigateur et est un don de la Commission des monuments historiques à la Ville de Québec. L’explorateur Jacques Cartier et Jean-François de La Rocque de Roberval sont reconnus pour avoir fondé en Amérique une colonie française permanente, plus précisément à l’embouchure de la rivière du Cap Rouge.

Surplombant autrefois la place Jacques-Cartier dans le quartier St-Roch, l’œuvre fut entreposée dès le début du chantier de la rénovation de la bibliothèque Gabrielle-Roy. Le parc Jean-Déry a été retenu pour accueillir l’oeuvre.

Ce monument est également à quelques pas du site archéologique Cartier-Roberval qui témoigne des traces exceptionnelles laissées par la première colonie française d’Amérique. La découverte des vestiges du premier établissement français en Amérique du Nord, par la CCNQ en 2005, a fourni une trace tangible du passage de Jacques Cartier dans le secteur de Cap-Rouge.

Pour une intégration réussie du monument en bordure du parc Jean-Déry, le socle a été entièrement refait et le belvédère a été réaménagé. Les installations actuelles permettent un meilleur rapport d’échelle entre le monument et les observateurs ainsi qu’une meilleure harmonie visuelle du paysage riverain.

Conception:
Duo Design, Architecte

Top